Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

It is an issue of controversy over whether a vertical city is a more optimal solution than a horizontal one. While I believe that expanding constructions horizontally offers people an array of upsides, I subscribe to the contention that expanding upwards exerts a multitude of desirable impacts on human life. On the one hand, there is no denying that a spread-out city brings about certain advantages. Firstly, constructing buildings on a wider tract of land offers inhabitants a more comfortable life. An explanation is that they are likely to take possession of a more spacious house where they can lay out their own garden, a personal swimming pool, and so forth. Accordingly, they may achieve a higher sense of privacy and convenience. Furthermore, horizontal housing expansion acts as a deterrent to the catastrophic destruction of natural disasters such as an earthquake or a hurricane. Since low buildings own a secure and solid foundation, together with a less heavy load, they could suffer from less disastrous damage from natural calamities. On the other hand, the construction of high-rise flats is deemed to be a holistic approach. Firstly, multi-storey buildings can be an effective measure to tackle the problem of land scarcity. This is because these structures are considered to possibly accommodate a huge population in dense urban regions. Equally important, residing in a taller building merely costs dwellers a reasonable amount of money. The reason is that more people are allowed to live in a certain area, which means there is no need to build new extravagant infrastructures like electric cables or underground water pipes. To sum up, it is without any shadow of a doubt that although housing expansion is supposed to provide inhabitants with positive impacts, I hold a belief that skyscrapers do wonders for people’s residing, especially in densely populated areas.