In many countries, people decide to have children at a later age than in the past. Why? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, it is assumed that young people tend to give birth to their children at a later age than the previous generations. This essay agrees that the drawback of having children at unsuitable ages, comprising the decline in population and ageing outweighs the benefits, which are to ease the burdens of daily living and give a better quality of life for the children. First and foremost, there is no denying that giving birth to children at a later age can lead to some benefits. One of the main downsides is contributes to reducing stress in life. As observed, many young people are currently facing several pressures in their daily lives such as peer pressure or uncommon economic circumstances and it goes down to the fact that there are barriers that prevent young people from having children early. For instance, the average salary of Vietnamese people is just around 8 million per month and it leads to the issue that the majority can’t afford the colossal fees to adopt a child. Moreover, another merit is that parents can save up to the required amount of money to fulfil the human aspirations of having a baby. There’s no lie that raising a child can be worth up to a billion Dong so I suppose that children should not have to endure the hardships of poverty and lack of conditions. Despite the aforementioned advantages, having a baby at an older age can provide more notable drawbacks. A few years back, people tended to sacrifice their next generation and adopt pets instead of raising children because it doesn’t cost a fortune. Taking the Korean young generation as an example, the birth rate is currently witnessing an alarming number that can cause various societal issues in the future. Besides, another demerit contributes to enhancing ageing which can lead to loss in the employee market in the future. It is clear that the economy of the country can experience a downward trend if it can’t fulfil the demand for workers in industry fields. In conclusion, although the mentioned problem can give rise to ease the burdens of daily living and give a better quality of life for the next generations, they are overshadowed by the upsides, including the decline in population and ageing.