Crime is becoming a serious concern. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing criminal incidents are becoming a big reason to worry. One section of people believes that the punishment can be further made hard to prevent the unlawful act from occurring. Whereas, others are of the opinion that it will not be of any use to stop the crime from increasing, as it is a mindset and circumstances which leads to increase in the bad doings and very little can be done to improve in this area. I this essay I will explain each of these viewpoints with some relevant examples. Firstly, the majority of the public think that if the strict laws are implemented and harder actions are taken against bad people who are involved in extreme offences like sexual assaults, murders then giving them a death sentence would set a right example in society so that person with think twice before attempting such acts. The fear factor, in this case, will help reduce the number of such cases. For instance, a study was done recently on various countries where we have capital punishment for life-threatening offences versus countries where there is no such retribution. And it was found that in countries, where there is capital punishment, in place, cases have gone down from the time it was implemented. On the other hand, a section of society has got an opposite opinion about this. They think that offenders are not born as they are. Situation and mindset developed over time lead to being involved in the bad acts. Hence when they are in the process of attempting an unlawful act, they actually are not afraid of being caught or about the consequence they may face. So, very little can be done to ensure we have control over everybody's circumstances or the thought process. There was a survey done on this when a lot of prisoners across the nation was asked about whether they were aware or thought about the consequences of their wrongdoings. The majority of them said they just got carried away by the situation and was not even remotely thinking about the price they will have to pay. In conclusion, while I take both views into account, I am a firm believer in implementing strict laws and spreading awareness about possible lawful implications certain common illegal acts can bring to peoples' lives. And also improving on the ground situation by working toward prosperity is the key to the overall well being of society to reduce unfortunate incidents like crime.