Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

In this fast-paced world, due to urbanization old cities are transforming into modern ones. This essay intends to discuss both positive and negative aspects of this transformation. While there are a few drawbacks of this phenomenon, overall benefits are far more. There are a number of advantages of modernizing old cities. To begin with, people get easy access to everything, such as better education, healthcare and transportation than in small towns and villages. For instance, in Delhi, people tend to travel by metro because it is fast, safe and convenient to travel long distances. Also, accessing can better housing, use the state-of-the-art designs in building sand so they have a better feeling and higher quality of lifestyle. Additionally, with such improvements in the infrastructure of buildings, many industries are setting up their business. Consequently, job opportunities are also increasing. Besides, people enjoy all modern amenities, such as air conditioners, modular kitchens and high-speed internet in modern cities. People can do lot more activities while sitting in with comfort at home. Admittedly, there are certain drawbacks of modernized cities. Firstly, environmental pollution is caused due to the increasing number of cars and construction activities. As a result, countless citizens are suffering from asthma and other chronic respiratory diseases. Another obvious concern is that the living expenses in modern cities are skyrocketing. This has resulted in an increasing number of homeless people which can be commonly observed in Mumbai and Delhi. To conclude, although modernized cities have certain detrimental effects on the environment and the living expenses of people, on the whole advantages outweigh the disadvantages.