In many countries, crime rates amongst younger people has been rising. Discuss the causes and solutions for this problem.

In recent times, the rate of crime has been on the rise globally, especially the crime committed by young people. In this essay, I will shed some light on the factors contributing to this problem and will also suggest some solutions for the same. There are several reasons for the swell in criminal activity among the young people around the world. The first reason is the growing rate of divorce and the emergence of single parenthood. One good illustration of this is a study indicating that 50% of the convicted youth in the prisons of USA belong to a disrupted family. Secondly, it is also possible to say that the increasing drug abuse among many youths plays a significant role in the sudden increase in the incidents of crimes. Finally, although not a major cause but school dropout is also a contributing factor to increasing crime rates. However, solutions are available to tackle this problem. Firstly, governments and local authorities should work relentlessly to ensure that all youngsters are regularly attending their schools. In fact, a recent study in Washington, USA has concluded that students who managed to obtain their high school degree were 75% less likely to engage in any criminal activity compared to those who could not complete their high school. Another possible solution is to invest more heavily in behavioral rehabilitation centers for youngsters convicted by law. Thus, criminal activity by young adults is a growing global problem, mainly caused by divorce, drug addiction and lack of education. These problems are not insurmountable, though, and governments should be able to solve these problems; they could start by considering the solutions suggested above.