Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools.

A school of thought holds that learning an additional language at primary schools instead of secondary schools would bring tangible and immediate benefits for children. This essay would opine that this development would exert a positive impact on the comprehensive abilities of children and their academic background, irrespective of a minor drawback in terms of language -related disorder. A number of advantages could be seen when a second language is taught to young children. To be more specific, not only this development would play an imperative role in facilitating the comprehension of students, but it also provides adolescents with a profound academic background for higher education. The primary reason for this development is that during their formative years, if primary children are exposed to another language, they would have more opportunities to enhance their language skills by mimicking the pronunciation of the other language or watching movies, thus, effortlessly learning an additional language. In addition, when students are exposed to a foreign language during their primary schools, they would have more academic background before entering higher education. For instance, a surveyed conduct by The Guardians over a sample of 3000 students studying English since primary academy and secondary schools demonstrates that exactly 79% of those who study English during their formative years achieving higher scores when doing an English test including listening, speaking, and reading, with the scores ranging from 70 to 90 over 100, compared to an average score of 56 of the remaining group. Those opposed to this say that this development would cause one problem concerning language -related disorder due to simultaneously learning two languages, including their mother tongue and an additional language. Irrespective of that, this essay believes that this solely happens when the children are overexposed to two languages, such as having parents who use different speech; therefore, the fundamental learning progress of another language would not impose a severe influence on the teenagers' language abilities. In conclusion, learning another language during the formative years would be advantageous in terms of facilitating the comprehensive skills of youngsters and providing them with a profound background. Though it has a certain disadvantage of language -related disorder; however, this small loss is worth the gain it offers.