Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Being a modern society nowadays, there are piles of new information generated every day. It is not difficult to see the existence of data exchange freely which is happening among the academic and business world. Some think that those stakeholders would benefit from sharing information that contributes to human society. The others, however, worry about the provision of information without charges may give rise to the problem of privacy and copyright. In my opinion, I support the latter one. The arguments will be explained as follow. On one hand, sharing information is beneficial to both business and academic aspects. Fruitful results, produced by numerous researchers and authorities, contribute significantly to the development of human society. For example, both the discovery of magnetism by Tesla and later the innovation of the light bulb by Edison changed the human lifestyle. If they rejected to publish their valuable findings, the human civilisation would probably remain unchanged. Thus, It is vital for the global information exchange. On the other hand, some stakeholders may concern about the infringement of copyright which causes a possible loss of equity. It is true that all the data and information published are worth money to certain extents. Such as, those publishings illegally obtained by gangs would sell for money that originally belongs to those stakeholders. Therefore, people involved in those findings should be given credibility because of their passion for hard work. In conclusion, the flow of information in the current situation is far from our expectations. It is correct that the rapid growth of human civilisation stems from the great contribution of data and information sharing. But we should also put an eye on the copyright and illegal problems which sharing information of no charges. Personally, I opt for the latter as every research should receive appreciation for their devotion to works.