In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The advent of the digital revolution and constant development in mobile technology has enabled mankind to operate almost everything from the click of a button. As per reports, of World Bank almost 72% of the entire world population are doing online payments through various apps on cellphones. While it's proving as a blessing to society but it does have an element of precaution too which will be elaborated further. On the one hand, these apps are proving to be beneficial for the public in their day-to-day life making it more simple and organized. Firstly, this is because, these modes of payment are simple to use and can be used anywhere at any time for all kinds of expenses that an individual spends on. For instance, more than 3.2 billion people are registered and doing their daily transactions on Google Pay for various kinds of bills like electricity, telephone, rents, cabs and much more. Secondly, the digital mode of payment has reduced the burden of physically going to the vendor's place for billing hence it providing ease of convenience and comfort to users at large. On the other hand, online or app-based payments are also risky. Since technology has advanced so has the threat from hackers. For example, as per reports from Norton Antivirus, in the year 2020, more than 20% of users faced the issue of account hacking globally with many ending up losing their hard-earned money. Another, issue to highlight here is uncontrollable spending habits of people is leading them to heavy debts, according to the reports of RBI on Indian Consumer Society. Thus, these are major factors contributing to a negative outlook. To conclude, even though there are privacy and threat challenges of using these payment apps but the benefits far outweigh the problems and gradually with progress in technology these risks would be mitigated as soon as possible.