Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Globally, educational systems have been and still are, revolving around exams. Although exams are extremely stressful to the point they can lead to depression or burn-out, they are necessary to test a students knowledge. In this essay, I will discuss how the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of exam involvement in instititions. Exams have been the cornerstone of the most part of a students educational life, as daunting as this may sound, they are necessary to test a students knowledge which can then be determined how successfully particular subjects have been studied. If skills are not evaluated, weaknesses and strengths will be doubted and further revision will not be attained. Also, ruling out exceptional students from weaker ones provides that credit is given where its rightfully due, ultimately leading to better career options. For example, with exams pupils who do not attend classes or revise properly will prove that their actions led to consequences, thereby they will learn from this and pupils who performed outstandingly will reveal that their hard work paid off. However, we cannot avoid the topic of stress and depression that exams give. In examination periods, students usually suffer with sleepless nights and loss of appetites therefore, admist all of this; ultimately they will not comprehend what is revised. Consequently, resulting in lower marks. For example a student may not show their true potential under all the stress as opposed to someone who did sleep and eat well. To summarise, exams are crucial in deciding the knowledge of a student to further their career but it does come with utmost stress. However, this is not something that should stop institutions as stress could be handled and decreased over time with new learning methods.