In many countries traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

In the rapidly evolving world, preserving connections with our past is an admirable objective. This method obviously has its own advantages, however, there are a plethora of other ways to preserve tradition and maintain a connection to the past. To begin with, traditional costumes play a vital role in linking people to their ancestors. In many cultures, wearing traditional dresses in festivals, parades and religious occasions can help evoke emotions in the hearts of people and give them a sense of belonging to their countries. Moreover, since these costumes have been worn for centuries, wearing them make an individual proud and help them to remember their predecessors. Furthermore, the traditional suit of a country reflects various aspects of the national customs and rich legacy. For example, the historic national dress of the Arab countries is Thawb, and individuals feel proud by wearing it. This heritage has been handed down between generations. However, national costumes alone do not help preserve the culture and traditions of one’s country. These garments are only supplementary and should not be relied on as the only method of connecting to the past. It is the ceremonies that convey the cultural norms and help to maintain the fabric of society. Most countries have a rich heritage of legends and folklore about the birth and development of their nation. These stories of cultural inheritance are far more effective than dress codes. In addition, we must consider arts and music, ranging from fine arts to handicrafts to conserve our culture. For example, the national songs of a country are the best way to evoke the emotions of people. To conclude, we must recognize and welcome the use of traditional gowns in helping to maintain our values. However, there are a number of other ways such as national stories, art and music are effective ways to preserve the cultural norms.