Some parents give their children everything that their children ask for and accept what their children want to do. Is this good for children? What could be the consequences for these children when they grow up?

It seems to be so ubiquitous now that many parents always try to indulge their children with whatever they want. From my perspective, these actions can spoil the child and have so many detrimental effects on their future development. To begin with, overindulgence is a poor choice of rearing for some reasons. First and foremost, kids need to learn through reward and punishment. In other words, they should be rewarded for their own success as a source of future motivation and punished if they do something wrong. If we do not educate them in these ways, they cannot comprehend the difference between right and wrong, become rude, ignorant, and, in some cases, develop into thoughtless individuals. For example, when kids pester adults to buy them their favorite toys just because others own the same ones, then they are satisfied. As a result, every time they desire to own new things, they will persist in ordering from their parents until they achieve that. This phenomenon causes harmful consequences, yet young people do not understand the true value and do not appreciate what they get. Additionally, the result of always satisfying children could be extremely harmful. Children will become needy and dependent; therefore, unable to live on their own. Obviously, this kind of education will weaken the ability to have self-reliance and fail to develop soft skills as parents do not let their offspring challenge themselves. For example, in some cultures, like Vietnam, parents pick up their kids from school, buy their clothes, and cook for them at home. Children do not have to do anything except study, resulting in their inability to stay away from their parents and live independently. In conclusion, I believe that overindulging children cannot grow up as independent individuals and heavily rely on assistance from their parents. Therefore, it calls for actions to raise children in an appropriate way, not just pampering them.