Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think they should focus on academic study only. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by many that the academy should educate students for their future jobs. But some people think they should simply give an academic education. To my mind, while academy focuses on academic courses, they should place practical courses into their curriculums. On the one hand, in the modern days, industries or companies need talented trained workers. However, many graduated people do not feel prepared for employees since they learn about just academic knowledge; resulting in a lack of practice and thus leading to a decrease in quality of business. For example, each electronic engineer must get theoretical lessons in all semesters such as circuit analysis or wireless communications so their knowledge about the software like Ansys used their job is not enough and sectors have to spend more time to learn this software because of not meeting sector’s need. On the other hand, theoretical subjects have also a crucial role in a student’s life. They improve their analytical thinking and calculation skills not attained with practical courses; resulting in solving the encountered problems by using mathematical background. For instance, in the economy, economists make use of theoretical models if they come against difficult or different situations. In addition to that, skills used in a job can be gained by personal effort. Nevertheless, picking knowledge in academic subjects up is far more awkward than lessons to practice so students always need to learn these courses in the university. In my opinion, the university does not only serve the business sector. Therefore, besides academic lessons, students compulsorily take subjects that provide them practising for their jobs like software or lab courses. That could be more proper for either the business or the academy. In conclusion, although skills used in areas of life can be attained by academic education and theoretical parts is more difficult to learn, practising for the sector in university is also important for student’s future life and industries or companies.