Some people believe that a zoo has no useful purpose. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is argued that captivating fauna in cages for the public to see them is not justified. I completely disagree with this as a zoo can save endangered species from extinction, in addition to that, it supports states economically and it is a helpful educational tool. A valid reason to have a zoo is to preserve rare species that are the on verge of extinction. The Arabian Leopard, for example, is a leopard subspecies that is critically endangered as there are only less than 200 ones all over the world. Hence, keeping some of them captivated is a must in order to save them. Another point to consider is that zoos provide an economic boost to their community. In other words, it is a place that families usually visit to spend a day there and they have to pay tickets fees at the entrance. As a result, such charges contribute to the country’s economy; for instance, Cairo’s zoo, has more than 2000 thousand visitors per day, and the admission fee is 20 EGP per person, these revenues support the state’s economy. Finally, children and youngsters can educationally benefit from keeping animals behind bars by having the opportunity to see the ones that do not exist in a given country's natural habitat. To illustrate, Modern School in Egypt regularly arranges a school trip for its students to visit Giza’s zoo; therefore, the teachers can have a better chance to educate youngsters about wildlife’s organisms such as giraffes or elephants. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that keeping animals in unnatural environments has many benefits by preserving them from extinction, additionally, it supports countries financially and represents a useful source of education for children.