Some people say, that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we do longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to certain people promotion used by companies tricks the public into purchasing products. While others believe that due to the reason that we are overwhelmed by ads, they do not affect our buying behaviour. In this essay I will take a look at both sides of the argument, however, I firmly believe that advertisement does not have the same level of impact as it used to. On the one hand, one might argue that because the vast majority of promotional campaigns are not only made to attract people but also widespread it is difficult for potential customers to ignore them. Moreover, ads being common and frequent might lead to an increased interest among buyers. Thus, persuading consumers to buy a product or service. On the contrary, although such marketing practices proved to be efficient in the past, it is hardly the case nowadays. And from my perspective, there are two main reasons for such tendency. Firstly, the excessive amount of advertising is undeniable. Nonetheless, their practical similarity makes it easier for consumers to not pay attention to these ads. Another noticeable point, is that majority of buyers have already developed brand loyalty towards particular companies based on their experiences. Hence, they will use products made by these brands regardless of them being heavily advertised. For instance, companies like Apple do not need to have extensive promotional campaigns in order to increase their sales. It is enough for them to point out the novice features of new devices just once. To sum up, it is true that advertising is a useful marketing tool to gain initial public interest, however, due to its lack of uniqueness and customers developing feelings regarding certain brands, they are less likely to affect consumers' buying habits.