Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large company can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about environmental preservation. However, whether only the authority and big firms can make a significant contribution to the improvement of the environment is a controversial issue. My view is that a single national could also make a huge difference. First, it is obvious that single inhabitant's behaviours have been associated with environmental conservation. We are producing a lot of waste at every moment. If we throw them at random, the whole city will be filled with garbage. An environmentally friendly situation is constructed by every settler. Moreover, without the cooperation of the public, the environmental policy from social institutions can't be implemented. Chinese cities have pushed for garbage classification for years and it has never really got off the ground, while Japan has made a huge success in garbage sorting. The most important reason is that the general quality of residents in Japan is better than in China. The policy needs every citizen's appreciation and support to bring good results. Although public behaviours are important for environmental protection, the government and big firms could guide them in the right way. It means that government can make related rules and companies utilize their resources for teaching people how to improve the environment correctly. No single firm or government could handle the environmental trouble. In sum, individuals also play a vital role in environmental improvement. Environment protection is a cooperative and long-term project, not only a single person but also social institutions could make an impact on it.