Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smartphones have become a crucial part of our life.they assist us in doing a variety of different tasks. Some people are of the opinion that mobile phones have reduced the amount of face-to-face interactions occurring between people.In my opinion, they have in fact increased our interactions with others.The following paragraphs will discuss both views and justify my opinion. Without, smartphones our everyday activities will be hindered. This is because they help us in several ways.In their absence, we will not be able to communicate effectively. Smartphones and internet allow us to stay in contact with our family and friends without the need of being face-to-face with them.They have made it possible for us to communicate with people from all over the globe, despite of the geographical barriers. For example, I always face-time my friends studying abroad by using my phone. This has strengthened our friendship enormously. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that mobiles have damaged social interaction.The reason for this is, we are always looking at our phone screen and hence forget to talk to people who are in front of us. Moreover, today there are many people who prefer to stay at home and spend time on their smartphones, instead of attending social events. for instance, I always try to avoid going to social gatherings so that I can binge-watch my favourite TV shows. To conclude, even though it may seem that people are growing distant due to excessive usage of smartphones, I believe that reality is quite the opposite.It is only because of availability of advanced phones, that we are able to interact with our family members and friends living far away from us.I think they have really made the world into one big family.