Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation of committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The number of crimes occurring in our society is increasing every day. In order to keep the crime tare under control, punishing the criminals is crucial. Some people are of the opinion that such punishments should be fixed and predetermined, while others believe that they should be different for everyone and must be decided after taking various factors into consideration.In my opinion, for serious crimes, there should be fixed punishments.The following paragraphs will discuss both views and justify my opinion. Crime rates in many countries are rapidly increasing.Having a fixed punishment for all forms of crime can be very beneficial for society.It will prevent people from committing major crimes and will induce fear in the mind of criminals so that they will think twice before doing anything illegal.It can also help to decrease the crime rate. For example, having a fixed and serious punishment for rapists has helped to reduce the number of rape cases in India. On the other hand, it may happen that a person who commits a crime may not always be a criminal. The person may have been forced to do something illegal because of the circumstances. Hence, before deciding a punishment for the criminal, it is important to take into consideration the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation behind it. This will ensure that a person who is not guilty will receive justice. For instance, a girl may kill someone who was trying to rape her. In this case, the girl's motivation behind murdering that person was self-defense and hence she should not be punished. To conclude, I believe that, it is right to decide a criminal's punishment after considering several factors. However, for certain crimes like rape and sexual assault, there should be fixed punishments because such things are not acceptable whatsoever.