Some people think the government is responsible for rise in childhood obesity, while other think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Obesity has become one of the unsolvable problems of 21st century. Many believes that lack of government initiatives is the only key reason for early age obesity. Whereas other people say that parents are accountable for this issue. In my opinion, parents are responsible for whatever health issues happen to their kids. On the one hand, parents are always there for taking care of their children's health and future. But sometimes, many of them overdo it by simply thinking it in financial terms. When both parents are working, the child is usually being left alone at home with snacks and television. Due to this, children are vulnerable to develop unhealthy eating habits. Furthermore, in most of the cases, children are provided with gadgets and computer games to play with. As a result of sitting and playing for long hours will stimulate the raise in body weight. In my personal experience, without gadgets we played long hours on play-ground which was not only helped to have better health but also, we had a great experience of socializing. On the other hand, for various reasons, government authorities ought to make some policies to alleviate this younger generation obesity problem. To begin with, due to early age obesity, they are prone to various life-threatening issues in their mid-life such as cardiac issues, diabetes, and cancer diseases. As a consequence, their average life-span will significantly reduce which will obviously make bad reflection in nation’s economic growth. Having said that, parents are afraid to send their kids outside because of increasing crime rates. This is one another reason for government's accountability on younger generations healthy future. Hence, authorities should provide enough confidence to parents that their children's safety is well-ensured by installing cameras and more gourds. In addition, imposing high tax on high sugar candies will prevent unhealthy food consumption. In conclusion, though there is a need of initiatives from government's side, but still children's well-being starts at home. In my view, it is parents primary responsibility to take all the necessary steps to avoid childhood weight gain problem such as teaching them healthy eating habits.