Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Jobs play a vital role in the survival of people. At present, more and more individuals prefer self-employment compared to working for an employer. In this essay, I would be discussing the reasons why this is the case, as well as the downsides of self-sustaining jobs. Those working as freelancers have more control of their schedules. For example, a mother of two is working as a fit-out contractor wherein she accepts renovation projects as a source of income and inspects the sites only once a week. As a result, she gets to attend to her children and spend more time with them because she does not have a hectic schedule. In addition, they do not have the liability to report to supervisors since they are their own bosses. Consequently, there is no one to police them. However, being self-employed does have drawbacks. First, there is the fear of not earning enough money for survival. For instance, an employed graphic artist will receive his or her full salary every end of the month, compared to a freelancer who will earn depending on the number of projects he commissions. Second, the expenses like space rental, transportation, government contributions, and utility bills are solely covered by the owner. Lastly, work is not stable since they are project-dependent. In conclusion, a proportion of people are more inclined to self-employment than being a regular employee. This might be due to the fact that they have more freedom. Moreover, there is no assurance of sustainable earnings.