More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the number of people willing to purchase brand name products are increasing. These items improve their self-esteem and also their social status. However, the quality of the items sometimes are overrated and they are too costly. The action of purchasing famous goods can be both positive and negative. I will explain my points of view in the following paragraphs. First of all, owing the famous items can improve one’s self-confidence. Those well-known brands such as Gucci, Louis Vuitton and BMW always provide an image of success. People who use these products are easily recognised by their friends and colleagues. Moreover, it is common for famous celebrities to drive brand cars. Therefore, If people bought a famous car, it is proved that their social status has changed significantly which contributes to positive development. On the other hand, there is no correlation between brand items and quality. It is promoted by repeating advertisements but not its nature. For example, some products are said to have many functions yet lack scientific evidence. Obviously, people will easily be trapped by the media. Furthermore, those items are often too costly. Consequently, people who are addicted to expensive accessories will eventually become poor as they continue to buy them. It is clear that it is a negative development. In conclusion, buying famous brands have both good things and drawbacks. In my opinion, people surely benefit from self-esteem from famous items. As long as they are capable of self-control, it is not a negative development.