Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why might this be the case? do you think this is positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, many youngsters prefer to spend most of the day on their electronic gadgets. The reasons behind this phenomenon are mainly because of the cutting-edge technology of this century which carries diverse outcomes; both beneficial and harmful ones. Due to the prevalence of technology, children are bound to spend their leisure time on their mobile phones in order to be part of the community. As a result, nowadays many offspring contribute to online activities just to be part of the current trend which deprives them of physical means of communication. Furthermore, the bombardment of information that is channelled through their smartphones makes it hard for them to find unrelated topics interesting. Take virtual reality as an example; after the inauguration of this feature, children find it challenging to enjoy their day-to-day activities because it is not as exciting as a virtually colourful world with no boundaries. While this development can be considered useful for youngsters' educational purposes, I adhere to the belief that it brings around more chaos rather than aid. Moreover, the younger population of society are now more prone to various diseases due to the lack of physical activities; therefore, lowers their chance of daily exposure to sunlight which can cause vitamin D deficiency. A recent study demonstrates that around half of the younger generation are suffering from eye conditions on a daily basis. Additionally, these people have a smaller circle of genuine companions and more superficial connections with their peers which would become problematic as they tend to get older. In a nutshell, the ubiquity of personal phones among children is mainly because of current social customs which require being online more often. Consequently, this approach results in damaging effects that prevail over the positive ones.