Many people believe that social networking sites ( such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that social media is able to harm and have numerous effects on not only households but also communities. Even though I agree that online sites are, somehow, able to harm people, there also are various positives to this. Both sides will further be discussed in the following essay for my opinion. On the one hand, some people think that there are numerous demerits about the impact of online social media. To begin, it is full of unhelpful resources on the internet including a lot of social platforms such as Facebook and Twitter, which are the greatest sources that may spread unproper news and rumours. Apart from this, another negative is some groups of people can commit strong crimes, for example, bullies and races, throughout social networking sites. In addition, there is a high possibility of suicides in the online community because some celebrities and role models could have bad comments and perspectives about them all the time. Despite the negatives of using social networking sites, certain positive aspects need to be considered. First of all, social media is able to provide new methods of communication although they cannot be together face-to-face. Due to the COVID-19 situation, it is far easy to keep in touch with each other with contactless by using the sites compared to previous years in the past. In conclusion, although there are several positives to applying online sites, there are more and more negative impacts. In my opinion, I partially believe that social platforms don't just bring the bad points if many people use the internet along with social media sufficiently and properly, communities and individuals use it to release their stress from works and study as well.