An increasing number of people nowadays are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Online shopping has revolutionized the way we shop. Consequently, more and more people these days prefer purchasing products online over the traditional method of going to stores. This trend, however, exerts both positive and negative impacts on individuals and businesses as well. The burgeoning popularity of online shopping can be attributed to several decisive advantages. First of all, the most distinctive benefit is convenience. To illustrate, people can buy products from the comfort of their workplace, own home or virtually anywhere without the pressure of a salesperson. Besides being able to purchase from the comfort of their homes or work station, customers can also save money. With ever-growing fuel prices, shopping online saves them the cost of driving to and from the shop. They can also save time by avoiding getting stuck in gridlocked traffic. As for online business owners, the startup cost is lower compared to physical retail stores. And let’s not forget, the shop owners do not have to hire staff to work and run the shop, thus saving a substantial amount of expenditure. Apart from this, online business owners can easily sell their products to customers worldwide. Despite some distinctive benefits, shopping online suffers from some obvious drawbacks. Fraud is the biggest downside of online trading. Put simply, there is a constant risk of fraud: debit or credit card scams, identity theft, hacking, phishing, and counterfeit goods to mention but a few. Likewise, cut-throat competition is making life tougher for business owners. Online trading is global and any customer from any part of the globe can purchase from any seller of their preference. That is to say, the competition with online business is not merely engaging customers, rather staying ahead of other sellers. In conclusion, while eCommerce reaps distinct advantages, it also confers some obvious disadvantages. As a consumer or business owner, people should know about the downsides of it before switching to eCommerce.