Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Paying university fees is one of the most critical issues for students all over the world. Increasing this amount by universities on the one hand and lack of job opportunities on the other side made people think that some non-practical majors such as history and philosophy are not needed anymore and practical majors should be at the centre of attention. In this essay, I am going to say that I partially agree with this idea and it can be modified based on actual need. As people believe in conducting just and equality in society, they assume that every single major should be taught in the universities apart from the career availability in the future. For instance, although courses such as literature are not producing science, they state it is necessary in the country. Moreover, they claim that some groups are interested in these courses and they deserve to be taught and those majors must be presented by academic sources. In a nutshell, they seek for no difference in providing various subjects. There are some others who suppose that non-practical subjects only waste people's time and money and put the same burden on academic resources. By way of illustration, they note no productivity derives from subjects like history, instead it consumes time and energy and it can be allocated to majors like medicine, physics, chemistry and so on. Moreover, they claim that these kinds of theoretical subjects can be embedded in other practical subjects to give an overview to students in this regard. In conclusion, even though, all majors are somewhat essential for the benefit of the countries, I think it is not fair to abandon them totally but rather should be limited to the needs of the countries and rather monetary funds should be distributed on the other practical subjects.