Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the increasing of commuting time in recent years, there are residents suggesting to occupy public entertaining areas including parks and gardens with residential buildings, while others and I disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and my idea with examples. On the one hand, it is true that the commuters spend an extremely long time on the way to work every day, so shortening the travelling time is necessary. In that case, the idea of occupying public areas is understandable. This is because most of the botanical gardens and People’s parks are usually located in central suburbs as well as most of the commercial offices in high-rise buildings. For example, in Melbourne, the Botanical Garden covers an area of ten thousand square meters right next to the Commercial Business District. People of Melbourne may spend less than ten minutes to their offices if they moved to the Botanical Garden. On the other hand, even though it seems effective to replace public areas with residential buildings, I do not agree with the suggestion because of the two reasons below. First and foremost, public areas are symbols of high quality of life because people’s lives are not only full of work and careers. Instead, the importance of life-work balance has been valued more in the last decades. If the governments destroy the parks and gardens, residents will have no place to take a walk and exercise in their spare time, which will definitely lower the quality of living. Furthermore, greens in parks are the lungs of the city. As reports have shown that air pollution has seriously influenced the health of human beings in urban areas since twenty century, including lung cancer and strep throat. Therefore, with a reasonable amount of plants, the problem of carbon dioxide and other air polluted contaminants can be alleviated in urban areas. In conclusion, even though lessening the commuting pressure is necessary, in my opinion, it is not the best idea to construct apartments on our limited green land in central suburbs.