Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this comtemporary world, finding a desired vacancy is very difficult in the market. Migration by job seekers from remote areas to metropolitan cities can possibly be one of the major reasons for job scarcity. Many people believe that such applicants should be given some voluntary service work which can benefit the community. In my opinion, i completely agree with this idea as this may help the candidates with opportunities in enhancing their skills and provide valuable job experience. To begin with, candidates who want pursue their career in teaching can opt for educating children in remote areas who lack schools and other educational institutes. For example, The government of India has introduced a program for aspiring teachers to work in villages with young children by providing them free education. This has helped the country to lower the illiteracy rate in many remote areas. Besides the positives of such programmes to society, the individual applicant can also be benefited from it. Apart from gaining experience and skills, the applicant will be supported financially. Also, the country can reduce the number of unemployed individuals thus easing the stress on the government. However, there are some drawback to such initiatives, migrating such candidates from city to villages can affect negatively affect them. Change in the lifestyle can be stressful and harm the person emotionally. In Conclusion, I still agree that such initiatives has more benefits to society and the job seeker irrespective of the cons as i believe that stress from unemployment can be more harmful.