In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the adavantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Upon completion of college,in some,areas students are advised to utilise the following year either working or touring before entering the university for further education. This essay will analyse the positive and negative sides of such an idea. On one hand, commencing a job or focusing on tourism just after secondary school has the advantage of enriching one with a whole lot of experience. This is because such an individual will be directly exposed to the work environment; meet people from different fields of the profession as well as a variety of cultures. This will invariably help the undergraduate in determining what to study at the University and literally add to the years of experience for job-hunting in the future. For example, my passion for nursing was the consequence of my travel after middle School to my auntie's place who is a nurse. On the other hand, not progressing to the university immediately after high school contributes immensely to the loss of interest in academics. As the youngsters earn money from work daily, some tend to forget about returning to school completely. Furthermore, those of them who relocated to other destinations may end up entangling themselves with toxic people like drug dealers, hence, become drug addicts, thus, destroying their academic careers just like my friend that went mad after college when he visited his relation that is residing outside the country. In conclusion, while becoming a worker or migrating to a foreign land for a duration of one year prior to thinking of higher learning qualifications presents numerous fascinating outcomes, yet,it is also associated with huge demerits, therefore, people should deliberate wisely on which action to take.