Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environment is now destroyed at an alarming rate, leading to various problems in our lives. Some people claim that the major environmental problem is the disappearance of some particular flora and fauna while others believe that there exist more significant problems. I personally think that the extinction of some animals is a serious problem but other environment-related issues should also be paid careful attention. The loss of some species can be considered a main problem due to the deleterious effects it generates. First of all, the extinction of some animals may cause ecological imbalance as it disrupts the food chain and habitat. For example, some animals cannot feed themselves if their preys disappear and some animals may struggle to live when the plants that are home to them die out. Gradually, other creatures will soon become extinct because of food scarcity and habitat loss. Furthermore, the medicine and food industry may suffer from lacking materials. Extracts from particular animals or plants are essential in the production of some medicine and food. Thus, when an animal's existence comes to an end, scientists have to spend more time, money and even develop new systems to find other alternative sources. On the other hand, people should also be aware of other environmental problems caused by pollution. Different types of pollution are creating various health hazards. For example, emissions from vehicles and industrial plants lead to air pollution which may cause respiratory illnesses such as asthmas, lungs cancer. Harmful chemicals from pesticides, fertilizers and untreated wastes discharged into rivers can cause skin-related diseases or even cancers when people use the contaminated water. In addition, excessive use of chemicals in agriculture and improper farming contribute to soil degradation and the unhealthy food grown on that land may damage our health gradually. In conclusion, environmental problems should be perceived from different angles and there is no issue which is of greater importance than the others.