The responsibility of preventing and reducing global environmental damage lies in the hands of politicians and individuals have little impact. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems have risen alarmingly worldwide. Many believe that people individually have less power to solve this phenomenon. I disagree with those who argue that this responsibility belongs only to politicians because a comprehensive collaboration is urgently needed. Global environmental damage is a huge problem. It is indeed that politicians have a major voice to influence people and government. They could address a new regulation to prevent and reduce this damage. Nevertheless, the number of politicians is too small and probably accounts for one-third of the population. Without real movement and changes, the regulation would only be a piece of written argument. For example, the Safe the Earth campaign declare by the politicians on television would be useless if there is little to no support from individuals. Therefore, a collaborative action is necessary and needs to be considered. On the other hand, a small impact by each individual on earth can bring profound change. The accumulation of real continuous movement will result in a greater positive impact. In order to solve a global problem, recent studies show that the involvement of all stakeholder are critical. All layers ranging from individuals to politicians, international bodies, and government are responsible for taking action together. An effort to reduce household products, recycling plastic bottles, reusing bags, and wise use of electricity are examples of individual responsibility for tackling environmental problems. Moreover, the community awareness of environmental-friendly action in developed countries like Europe is also great evidence of how individuals could successfully be part of the Safe Earth movement. In conclusion, preventing and reducing environmental damage is the responsibility of all human beings. Even though politician has strong power, this problem is considerably unable to be solved only by them. Therefore, an inclusive movement involving individuals should be addressed.