“Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up.” To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In traditional societies, the mother always had the responsibility to take care of the children whilst the father was financially providing. However, in modern times, I believe parents are equally important responsibility for children. Firstly, nowadays, due to the pressure and competition in finding a job, it is very difficult to find a job that can provide for the whole family. Besides, women are now well educated and have the same ability to find good jobs as men. Therefore, to meet children's basic needs such as food, clothing, and education, both parents need to contribute. The financial sharing from the mother will reduce the financial burden on the father and make the family atmosphere less stressful, making everyone in the family happy, including the children. In order to reduce the burden of women in housework, men should also share the daily chores in the family. Secondly, to become a good physical and character person, children need parents to guide them to the right way to achieve this. For example, the father should spend time playing with children, taking them to sports games such as football, baseball. These can make the child active, confident and fatherhood is more bonding. On the other hand, the mother can teach them etiquette as well as good behaviours. In conclusion, an ideology exists that because women take full responsibility for decisions about childbearing, she also is responsible for rearing the child, I believe that this idea is absolutely faulty. Because with sharing child-rearing, parents can make a happy, safe home environment for their kids.