In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people tell children that if they are persistent, they can get whatever they want. This essay will expose some benefits and drawbacks when this advice is giving to young people. One of the benefits of teaching children practices such as persistence, hard-working and constant practice is helping them to figure out what is their purpose in life. For example, children who lived day to day and grows up not knowing what exactly to do in life. As a result, they could have conflicts in future jobs or develop frustration or stress. Another advantage is related to the physical, and artistic development of children. Succeed in any sports or discipline require entire dedication, both, physical and mental, which is achieved by practising and in many ways by being motivated. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages, to start with. Firstly, sometimes, parents put their frustrations and desires on their children, pushing them to perform in something they are not really keen on. Taking beauty pageants for little girls in the USA as an example, in which, children are told to accept extensive hours of Passarella training, makeup sessions with the promise to achieve fame or money. However, those who actually want to receive these benefits usually are mothers. Regarding the advantage of pursuing dreams, this could convert a dream into a nightmare whether children are not told how to handle a loss. Given that, it is mandatory that adults help children how to strengthen their mindset and they could recognize that extra work is not necessarily guaranteed to gain their goal. To sum up, telling children they can achieve big dreams while working hard and do not give up has both advantages and disadvantages, but, there is more beneficial and healthy advice than damaging because children would have the opportunity to discover what they do well and they like, some adults never realize this. Helped by close relatives, children can meet their potential, built a strong mindset and have success in life.