In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In certain areas, children are typically taught by their parents that they are able to achieve anything they want if they give sufficient effort. This kind of education might be beneficial for the kids, but there are some drawbacks that parents should consider if they want to use this type of parenting. Nurtured by encouraging the offspring that every dream can be achieved fosters their innate confidence. Obviously, it is advantageous because the offspring would feel supported, thus they could maximize their potential and efforts. In their adolescent age, children have a tendency to be insecure. Consequently, children would be afraid of presenting in public. Hence, children would avoid any particular activities that require confidence, such as debating, performing on stage, or speaking in public. Even though this parenting has some positive impacts, there are several detrimental effects on it. If the parents never tell how challenging the reality is as they grow older, they might not be able to face it and it might be hard for them to adapt in various settings. Furthermore, it is nearly impossible to achieve anything. As we know there are so many factors related to success and children have to be aware of that. At their juvenile age, children are still clueless about how the real world happens. It would lead to extreme disappointment if the children tried their best, but in the end, they would still meet failure. This condition could damage their mental health and also could cause severe stress or depression. In conclusion, educating the children that they can achieve anything as long as they have full effort needs to be reconsidered. Clearly, parents should boost children ’s confidence by saying that their dreams are possible to be achieved. However, parents have to tell them the possibility of failure they could face and how the reality works.