Today, TV channels provide more men's sport shows than women’s sport shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

TV programmes broadcast more male sports competitions than females. Although the rationale behind this trend is the huge economic benefit brought by male sports, I believe that TV channels ought to provide a more appropriate time for sports matches of men and women. The reason why there are more men’s sports shows than women’s ones is because of the enormous profits men’s sports bring to the TV channels. In fact, most sports require extreme physical and mental strength. Therefore, sports appear to be more suitable for men, who are stronger than women in terms of both physical and mental health. For example, rugby is the sort of sport that necessitates players to take advantage of other teams to score by using physical violent activities, where females are underprivileged since they are more vulnerable to physical attacks compared to their counterparts. As a consequence, rugby matches between men players will be more captivating and attract more viewers and ardent supporters, following that broadcast companies can possibly gain more revenue to invest in their projects and plans National TV channels should allocate more equitable distribution of broadcasting time for women’s sports games and men’s ones. It is true that there are still many sports that need female competitors. Take driving as an example, a outsized number of viewers are pleased and excited to see the participants, who are usually female, diving into the deep water, showing their flawless skills and complete bravery. If the TV channels broadcasted both female and male sports championships with an equal time, there would be more choices and chances for the audience to watch their favourite sports matches. This will result in the enticement of more viewers and more possibility to gain more reputation and profits for any broadcast companies. In conclusion, although male sports provide many companies with a huge economic advantage, I believe that broadcasting both male and female sports tournaments will help many TV channels gain more values related to reputation and revenue in the long run. Therefore, TV channels should conduct investigations on the population’s preferences and strike a balance between male and female sports matches.