In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is common for children to be told that anything is possible if they set their minds to it. In my opinion, this will lead to great accomplishment, but for the majority, engenders feelings of inadequacy. On the one hand, people can benefit from a positive emphasis on effort and achievement. The best examples of this come from the United States, where famously every child is encouraged to pursue their dreams, no matter how aspirational and unrealistic. Those, who succeed, serve as role models and evidence the efficacy of pushing children to achieve anything. For instance, the number of entrepreneurs and artists, who have left their mark globally from the USA, is staggering and includes figures like Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Michael Jackson, Warren Buffet and Will Smith. These people often give encouraging interviews and speeches where they reiterate the importance of having passion and grit to achieve transcendent fame. However, the cases mentioned above are exceptions, and considering them the rule that only hurts the self-esteem of the general populace. When an individual is told that they can accomplish anything through sheer determination, and they then fail to become rich and successful as told, they have no one to blame but themselves. The truism about the connection between effort and achievements is more nuanced than the platitude typically supplied to children. There is a complex interplay between talent, effort and luck required to produce great success and all high-achievers are subject to determining factors beyond simply hard work. Teaching children, otherwise, only sets them up for self-doubt, disillusionment, delusions of grandeur that will weigh on them throughout adulthood. Hard work is an essential ingredient, but supposing it guarantees success, will only lead to resentment towards oneself and others. In conclusion, while teaching children that hard work ensures achievements would produce great individuals, overall it could breed insecurity. Parents ought to encourage a positive mindset with less lofty expectations.