More and more young people are using drugs and alcohol and as a result, breaking the law. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

The number of young people who violate laws by using drugs and alcohol has increased recently. This is because technology allows young adults to access them more frequently and the changes in a social relationship made them harder to consult their mental health. I believe enforcing stricter regulations can be a solution to deal with this problem. The major reason why increasing youngsters commit crimes of using drugs and alcohol illegally is that the prevalence of the internet facilitates them to gain drugs and alcohol. On the internet, adolescents are able to purchase them easily by disguising someone, such as their parents. Furthermore, with the change in social relationships, the young generation has fewer people to consult their stress. Currently, for young people, there are a considerable number of factors pressuring them including their school life, the relationship with parents and future career. However, as social bonds have weakened, they do not have so many people to have a conversation with. Thus, drugs and alcohol are methods to forget their daily distress. To tackle this problem, I argue that the government should tighten the regulations of sellers. By imposing more stringent punishments, stores become more responsible for selling their products. This is well exemplified by my part-time experience at a convenience store. In Japan, young people are not required to show their identification cards every time unless the convenience store clerks ask them to do so. Most clerks are afraid of complaints by the customers more and tend to avoid asking them. As this illustrates, the measures to the irresponsibility of sellers also contribute to dealing with this problem. In conclusion, the young public use drugs and alcohol increasingly because the accessibility of these commodities have been facilitated and the burdens surrounding young people made them use illegal products. In my opinion, more legislation for sellers is required to change their awareness.