With an increasing overweight population some think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has turned into a pandemic in this modern world and there is an upward surge in the number of people who are overweight; with this in mind, it is argued by some that sports activities must be made a mandatory part of all degree programs. I completely agree and believe that this would only positively impact the pupil. With the increase in the workload on the students graduating from high school to colleges, most find it difficult to cope up with the sheer volume of work and forgets to stay active. For instance, ‘freshmen fifteen’ is a phenomenon common in the United States where university students gain an extra fifteen kilograms in the first year of college. Moreover, with sports being integrated into their school timetables, the freshmen would have allotted time for workouts; this in turn would give them no excuse to skip lessons. The pupil also get to be a part of various teams and form bonds with others; this helps with the loneliness that most tend to experience in the first few months of being away from home. It gives them a feeling of being a part of a team and improves morale in general. A study done by Oxford University in 2020 established that ninety-five per cent of students were happier in universities where sports activities were made obligatory. In conclusion, moulding the young mind is the responsibility of the school and they should do their best to keep the kids in good health, be it mentally or physically and this rule would be a step in the right direction.