Today due to advanced medicine, people are living longer. Therefore, the number of elders is expected to exceed that of young people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, thanks to sophisticated medicine, the life expectancy of people is longer than it used to be in the past. With that in mind, it is anticipated that the number of old people will exceed the youngest ones. While there might be possible disadvantages of this development, it is my opinion that the advantages are more significant. To begin with, the first disadvantage of people living longer is that it might be an economic burden on some countries such as third -world nations. This is because the cost of medicine production and development is high as these countries allocate their money to be spent in other fields with higher priorities such as building infrastructure. Secondly, if the number of older people is increasing, this might harm the workforce. The reason for this is that several work fields require physical strength such as construction works. Consequently, elderly people are not fit for such jobs as there are fewer young people who can fill the gap. Having said that, the first benefit of having more old people around is that it is worthwhile for the working force. This is because most of the married youths are dual-income families; both of the parents are working. Therefore, if the grandparents are enjoying good health, these working couples will leave their children with grandparents while they at work. As a result, they will feel a sense of tranquillity and security. What is more, these old people can benefit society in the long run. This is based on the fact that they possess valuable wisdom and experience from their long lifetime. Moreover, they can transfer their useful aspects to children, and, this indeed, will lead to a better generation in the future. In conclusion, although there are several problems that this development – brings predominately economic burden and negatively affecting workforce- the benefits it brings such as helping their sons to take care of their children and raising better future generations are impossible to ignore.