Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requriement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Humans are inevitably resistant to changes in their ways of life. Some people acknowledge that the required amount of waste is not being recycled and therefore, it is essential for government to take the charge of this and to devise a law for exercising recycling. Firstly, in my opinion, government must take action in order to encourage the recycling since, people do not process it on their own to a needed level. Moreover, a large chunk of recyclable materials is extracted from the households, making them a huge contributor.To illustrate, Japanese homes recycle 90% of their aluminium materials,which was 55%, after the introduction of tax redeeming law on recyclable products. It is because of the increased pollution in environment and productive pressure on industries, it is imperative for governments to take the issue on their hands. Since, we have seen in the past that people tend not to take many viable opinions seriously unless, those opinions are forged into laws. Secondly, not only Government but also private sectors can also come into role for helping governments to segregate the recyclable products. For instance, one of the vending machine in Germany provides discount of 2%, if customers recycle their previous used canned bottle into the vending machine. In my view, government all by itself cannot achieve the result without the help of the private sector. Furthermore, it is a paramount job for people to reduced carbon footprints, however people cannot achieve this target on their own without the intervention of governments. To conclude, it is lucrative for govenment to intervene in this situation, where it can have a leverage of collecting taxes when a certain quantity of recyclable material is not achieved and simultaneously this will help humanity in reducing pollutants into enivironment and will encourage the judicial use of our resources.