Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, it is believed that pupils have forgotten the real essence of festivities and traditions, and they consider festivals as a mere occasion of enjoyment and relaxation. I do not agree with this point of view; from my perspective, people still understand the value of these religious occasions. Firstly, because of the rapid technological advancement, folks are able to gather a plethora of knowledge about old traditions and they also share it with others. To elaborate, the internet has provided a platform where humans can learn about their ancient traditions and values; moreover, they also educate their kith and kins about it. For instance, according to a study conducted at Oxford University, it was reported that the younger generation today is immensely interested in learning about the history of their traditions and festivals. Secondly, schools and universities play a significant role in educating the youngsters about the true meaning and importance of these festivities. In other words, most of the schools and colleges inculcate several ways of teaching their students about the history of their country and the religious festivals celebrated by the local populace. For example, in the UK some schools have made it mandatory for kindergarten kids to learn the Christmas choir as it aids them to learn about the festival Christmas. However, on the other hand, there are a number of people who are unaware of the actual meanings of these religious occasions, and for them, festival periods are just leisure time. To elucidate, numerous individuals in the USA consider festivals like Christmas and Halloween, an excuse for shopping and partying. To conclude, in my opinion, it is definitely true that some people have forgotten the significance of traditions, but the majority of the population still understand the true meanings and importance of these festivities.