In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

While in many nations the rate of brutal crimes is declining steadily, people still fear when at home or outside. I believe living with the same mindset and misconception regarding the criminals are the potential reasons for this problem, whereas change of attitude and awareness campaigns by officials can be the viable solutions. One of the major causes of still feeling unsafe is not getting over thoughts of the fearful environment from the past. So much has been brought to people via print or social media about the disturbing crimes from different places that it still bothers many members of society even when they are in a much safer place today. For example, the Nirbhaya case of India shocked the entire world and many parents even today feel unsafe, especially for their children. Also, many people do not get to know what happened to the accused of the crime and they unwillingly believe it to favour the convicted. Such things make them feel that criminals get away easily and therefore, they always are fearful of their surroundings. As a solution, people should change their behaviour when they go out and see a stranger or when someone is at their doorstep. Many times, people make wrong assumptions about others and consider themselves getting trapped and becoming victims of any crime. Furthermore, governments should actively promote figures displaying the decline in crime over time, which would ensure people living in a much secure environment. This can be done by using flyers or advertising on television. For example, UK recently launched a channel on which news regarding regular serious offences and further the trials conducted on the culprits are shown. In conclusion, reacting as still living in violent surroundings and predicting the convicted of not getting punished are the major reasons behind people feeling insecure and behaving as per conditions and initiatives from officials are the most reliable remedies