In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying abroad is an inclination of a majority of youngsters nowadays. While in the past, graduates used to live and devote their intelligence to their own countries, a large number of undergraduates getting a university certification are biased towards going to foreign countries for their higher learning and jobs. Taking this development into consideration, there are more advantages than disadvantages due to the opportunities it brings back to one’s career and the economic growth of a homey. First of all, there are several drawbacks when scholars migrate to a foreign bucolic. Particularly, one serious problem called brain drain could lead to the economic recession of one nation, when talented and intelligent people leave their own provincial to work permanently in others that offer them more money for their dedication. Taking Vietnam as an example, there is a competition called Road to Mount Olympia, which is held in order to find talents and give them scholarships to study abroad. According to a report, out of 10 students sent to study in other countries, only one returns and devotes to Vietnam, which is a real challenge and difficult for this country. Nevertheless, thanks to this trend, individuals have more chances to complete themselves and their agrarian has motivations to grow up. When being exchanged students, they can work with foreigners from globally various cultures, thus they can day by day broaden their horizons and gain more experience for their long journey. Besides, living in a strange and threatening environment, graduate’s adaptation ability and problem-solving skills can be improved. Therefore, they could become more well-rounded and have opportunities to be paid a higher salary or promoted. What’s more, when having to suffer the brain drain phenomenon, their country would promulgate appropriate policies and have an engine for improving their economy in order to attract students to stay and devote themselves to their home. In conclusion, while there are some undeniable disadvantages of this advancement, the advantages it brings back are much more enormous for both individuals and their own country’s economic growth.