Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school?

There are two schools of thought about whether students need to attend extra classes,even after studying at school and on a weekend or parents should let their children relax after a long hard-working day. To my mind, I subscribe to the latter idea as the thinking of extra classes will boost exam marks is flawed because schoolwork is enough and if they are forced into overstudying, it will result in plenty of insidious effects afterwards. Education for children has become more complex and nerve-racking than ever before. This means that they have to prepare their lessons beforehand or else they will get behind their friends. In addition, the amount of homework they receive every day is amassing instead of reducing so after 8 hours of attending schools, students are forced into doing homework for another 2 or 3 hours without having proper rest. Therefore, if they still have to go to extra classes, children will sooner or later run out of energy, hence a counter-productive impact on their performance. In addition, more supplementary classes are at the expense of withdrawal from social activity. Since students ’ time is spent closing off in the classroom and embedding in table desks, their communication skills and social circles with other people will decline and the chance that they are less advantageous than their peers when finding future occupations is pretty high. Moreover, students who are inundated with excessive studying time undergo a direct influence on their well-being. An increase in the number of students who attend extra classes is coping with deprivation of sleep every day. As a result, it does violence to their mental health, causing mental distraction and deterioration in some skills such as analytical and problem-solving skills. Gradually, this hinders students ’ progress and leads to low grades as well as a lack of enthusiasm when going to school. Statistically speaking, a growing number of depression in students is caused by their stressful studying programme. Therefore, students should be given more time to learn something that the school program doesn’t include which they find it intriguing and engrossing. All in all, it is understandable that parents only want the best for their progeny. However, I believe that they should listen to their kids more to get to know what is actually the most effective approach for their education.