Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Mental strength is believed to be the key reason to success in playing sports. Another school of thought holds that a fit body also plays an integral role in deciding the holder of a victory. From my perspective, both these two factors are of paramount importance when it comes to a successful performance in any sport. Sports experts and other health scientists have asserted that physical strength solely cannot lead to a triumph. That is why individuals who aspire to go first in any games or sports need to practice to possess a strong mental health because a match may seem to be disappointing at first but if they keep persevering, the sweet result is awaiting in the last minutes. To cite an example, EURO 2020 has been recorded as the most memorable event in history when a match between the 2018 world cup ‘s holder-France met a weaker opponent –Switzerland. Everything was going on smoothly as expected for France when they scored 2 goals ahead and had already dominated the pitch. Despite that, Switz played with all their faith and energy until the last minute and finally turned the table, victoriously eliminating the world cup’s holder out of the competition. However, being athletic is a big plus for sports players if they aim for the championship. A match in football or tennis often lasts for 90 minutes or more which requires a good endurance to play under harsh weather conditions, especially the sunny day. Furthermore, the chances of getting injured while playing are potentially high so if players don’t train or practice regularly to adapt to these conditions, they will soon become exhausted and are likely to encounter such injuries like strains and sprains or even a stroke. Evidently speaking, sports such as weightlifting or boxing demands a well-built body as they must lift a dumb-bell weighting from 50 to over 100kg or constantly attacking and avoiding hits from the opponent that only through a strict and regular regime can they become a winner. To conclude, I am generally convinced that not only mental power but also physical strength is instrumental in determining the success of a sports game since they are in an inextricable relationship with each other.