Some parents believe that learning mathematics at schools is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain foundational whether or not it is used in later life. Discuss both views.

It is argued by some parents that learning math in elementary school is not essential. In contrast, others claim that it should be maintained in the curriculum whenever it will be helpful afterwards. This essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, some people advocate that learning math should not be mandatory since most of the content taught is not used later, only for specific professions. Moreover, this subject could be replaced by essential topics more helpful, like the domestic economy or emotional intelligence. For instance, a recent study conducted by The University of São Paulo proves that most subjects learned in primary and elementary schools are often not used by the majority in adult life. On the other hand, others affirm that mathematics is a basic knowledge that every person should know. They defend that math is part of our daily life, and everyone should be able to do simple calculations like multiplication, addition, subtraction, or division. Also, math in schools is often the first contact of individuals with exact sciences and probably the initial starting point for students to develop a logical thinking process. For example, mathematicians had the first contact with this science at school, awakening the interest to follow this professional path and following this path as a career. To conclude, this essay discussed the main points showing both points of view, where some people defend the relevance of math being part of the syllabus, while others opine that it is not essential knowledge being in disuse nowadays.