Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Value-based education is the backbone for any nations economical and cultural development. Copying others ideas and knowledge in exams has seen a spike in recent times in many countries across the globe. In this essay, I will elucidate the two important reasons behind this trend and suggest possible solutions to address this issue. There are two critical reasons for this behaviour. Cut-throat competition among the students to meet market needs is probing them to attempt copying in exams. Many jobs in the world are considering academic marks as primary criteria, for example, the Microsoft campus recruitment drive has a cut-off at 70% in academic results, which filters many students to get qualified for the entrance exam itself. Adding to this, the online exam conducting mechanism without proper surveillance is another reason for this trend. The recent scam busted by CNBC during the Covid pandemic, for instance, the GRE exam in India is being written by the third party agents on behalf of students to acquire high scores as it was conducted online without proper monitoring. Having said that, solutions for this are thought through and to be implemented without fail. The primary one is to impose a stringent policy to take serious action on students who encourage this method. Restriction of a student from the college for the lifetime, for instance, will be a benchmark for many other students not to adopt these kinds of methods. Apart from this, additional monitoring methods are to be introduced to conduct exams remotely during the pandemics. Covering the student movements from all angles while writing the exam with the cameras, for example, is the best way to stop this malpractice. Society cannot take a chance of releasing a student into the job market with half-baked knowledge. In conclusion, plagiarism is a rising concern in many countries in this contemporary world. The reasons identified for this situation are increased competition and the conducting pattern of remote exams. However, the strict rules to punish the accused and creative ideas to monitor online exams using technology-based gadgets will absolutely eradicate this problem.