experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, where as now suffer from loneliness and health problems. what are the causes of this and what are some solutions.

There is no doubt that our older generation has led a more enjoyable and content life in the past. They had immense opportunities for exercise and spent quality time with their loved ones. In contemporary society, retirees face a variety of issues, which include loneliness and ill- health. This essay will explore the several causes and try to find some solutions to the said issue. To begin with, one of the paramount reasons for old age loneliness and compromised health is seclusion. Once the children started working, they had to leave the family and go away for their livelihood, which left the older parents to live alone. For example, a recent study conducted by Munich University revealed that 80% of the older population is confronted with isolation. Further, fewer avenues for socialising due to ill health is another typical cause of this. Rather than spending time with friends, they opt to live inside the four walls due to the fear of falling. The suggested solutions for this issue are old-age homes with cutting-edge facilities and old-age clubs for improved social life. In Japan, geriatric specialist health workers inspect the welfare of elderly people who live in the community. In Finland, the oldies clubs are more prevalent, where they spend quality time in various entertainments. The local governments, in collaboration with non-governmental organisations, should adopt a multifaceted approach to tackle this problem. In conclusion, the elderly are undoubtedly facing loneliness and bad health. The government as well as the general public have an ample role to play in providing adequate welfare for them.