Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. What is the impact of it on the environment and what is the effect on people who lost their jobs because of it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The coronavirus pandemic in the beginning of 2020 changed our planet forever, obliged all of humanity to live in a new way. Many countries have been forced to close borders and restrict the movement of people within the country, which led to a sharp increase of online shopping. But is it good and what are the consequences for the environment? Many people under current restrictions have no other way to satisfy their needs other than to shop online. On the one hand, there is a positive side as thousands of consumers do not move around the city by private or public transport, emitting carbon into the atmosphere. On the other hand, whatever you order online, the delivery service is responsible for the safety of the goods. Thus, the delivery service packs even the smallest and most insignificant purchase in protective plastic or carton packaging and then all this is sent to the landfill. The downside of online shopping is the fact that it reduces the number of brick-and-mortar retail locations and, consequently, reduces the number of jobs. Retail stores close down, the whole process becomes automated, and employees are simply not needed anymore. However, it cannot be said with certainty that online shopping deprives people of work, because electronic shopping requires an advanced network of storage, delivery and packaging of goods, and this creates new jobs. As e-shopping becomes available to more and more people around the world, it ammount is rapidly increasing. It has both pros and cons, but the advantages of online shopping are undeniable and this can be considered as new round of development in the era of consumption.