Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those who would argue that advertising has become so pervasive, it hardly has any effect anymore. In my opinion, while the general populace has developed habits to ignore ads, advertisers can still achieve their desired effect on the whole. The primary argument against the power of ads is that they can be avoided. Online advertising is a good illustration of this. Users rarely click on or glance at a website' combination of pop-up ads, banners, mailing list requests and auto-playing video ads. This has become widely common that consumers have developed the unconscious practice of skipping ads on YouTube, quickly closing pop-ups and scrolling past in-page advertising. Advertisers have tried to counter this by making their marketing less conspicuous, as with ads that resemble real posts on social media sites like Instagram, but their sheer frequency means that they can be easily identified and do not stand out. However, despite the best efforts of users to eschew advertisements, they are still effective in some aspects. A majority of people ignore most ads most of the time. This is something that advertisers would expect beforehand and build into their marketing budgets. These days, marketing has become the major source of earnings for the largest corporations in the world, including Facebook and Google, because of more sophisticated targeted ads. Meaning that, savvy marketers can sort through demographics and cross-test content for multiple audiences until they hone in on the most efficient advertising solutions. They can then replicate these ads and invest more money into the well-performing ones. Advertising today, in reality, is far more powerful than at any point in the past because of the raw data available to target potential customers and the concrete feedback on successful ads. In conclusion, in spite of the most devoted efforts of the ordinary citizenry to circumvent advertising, technological innovations have given marketers more power than ever before. This might portend badly for future generations and it is vital that lawmakers enact regulations on marketers.