Some parents think its good to have their children mobile phone, other disagree. discuss both sides and give your opinion

The mobile phone has become a must-have item for everybody since its inception. Things have gone so far as, not owning a phone, renders one useless. Similarly, this trend has been picked up quite well by the kids as well. On top of that, some parents don't mind seeing their children with a mobile phone, whereas, there are others who are actively against it. On the other hand, I believe that children should be allowed to have a phone on them. Firstly, the use of phones has evolved from just being a tool to call and text someone to taking photos and videos, accessing the internet and ultimately sharing their life on social media. Furthermore, barring children from accessing mobile phones will not only leave them feeling embarrassed but also push them back from learning new things. For example, apps like dictionaries help them to learn new words and comprehend the meaning, apps like reminder tools assist with organising their schedule. Moreover, the safety of their child is paramount to any parent and with the ability to call emergency services or even their guardians in the event of life-threatening situations, phones do become the quintessential tool to have. Secondly, from my perspective, I can understand the pain of the parents and why they don't want to allow their child to have one. To elaborate, children can easily be manipulated, for instance, in Syria, terrorist organisations have been using mobile phone apps to gain access to vulnerable and unsuspecting youngsters to radicalise them and use them as weapons. Additionally, it is really an arduous task to get the youngsters to get away from the screens and focus on their studies once they become glued to their phones. As I wrote about safety before, I have seen many children failing to pay attention to their surroundings, especially in built-up areas, which begs the concern regarding their welfare. Also, their mental health can easily be affected by exposure to harmful materials available online. In conclusion, I am an avid supporter of kids owning mobile phones only up to the point where it doesn't become an addiction and parents have an immense role to play in ensuring the safety and well-being of their children.