Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement. Give relevant example.

In today's time, there are millions of people travelling to and from one country to another for various reasons. From visa application to ticketing and then the modes of transport, have all become streamlined and less convoluted, whereas language is still that one hurdle of international travelling that even after so many years, is yet to be overcome. I personally have experienced this issue hence, I totally agree with the notion. Firstly, there are thousands of different languages all over the world. Some are more conspicuous, for example, English, Chinese, Russian and Hindi, whereas there are languages that are not well-known or widely popular, for instance, the Aboriginal language. Furthermore, we created different currencies for trading and as it became confusing, most of the countries started adopting the US dollar which enabled the handling of even the most complex transactions. Similarly, English is one language that is widely spoken, however, it is an arduous task to learn English. On top of that, many under-developed countries are still struggling to get their population to attend school, let alone learn English. Secondly, language is one of the ways to express ourselves. On the other hand, comprehending someone else from a different part of the world, attempting to elaborate something becomes extremely difficult if we can't fathom any words that are being spoken. For example, I went to visit a very remote settlement in western Nepal as a relief worker for a local charity organisation in 2012, but as we reached there, converging everyone became an uphill task as they couldn't understand what we were saying and in the fear of hurting their sentiments by saying something offensive, we were unable to proceed and had to wait for an official translator. This shows how difficult it can be with the ubiquitous presence of a language barrier in any new place. In conclusion, being a foreign student living in Australia, I can solemnly confirm how difficult it can be for a foreigner to settle. Moreover, learning a new language is not always easy, which makes understanding the local culture and heritage all more tumultuous.